Skip To Main Content

Header Holder

Header Top - Mobile

Trigger Canvas - Search Icon

Header Top

Toggle Schools Container


Header Bottom

Toggle Menu Container

Header Logo Title

Header Bottom Right Column

District Nav Canvas

Toggle District Canva Container

District Navigation

Mobile District Nav

Horizontal Nav



Established as Adamson Junior High School in 1977
Converted to Adamson Middle School in 1989

Adamson was named for Linton Mallory Adamson, a life-long Clayton County resident. The Adamson name dates back before the Constitution of the United States. The Adamson family came to the United States from England in 1635. They settled in the colony of Maryland where the family continued until 1789, distinguishing itself through Revolutionary War officers and United States Congressmen.

The year 1789 found Greenberry Adamson leaving Maryland and moving to Wilkes County, Georgia. He moved to the Clayton County area in 1822. Augustus Pitts Adamson, Greenberry's grandson, lived in the community of Rex and served in the Civil War.

Linton Mallory Adamson, Augustus Pitts Adamson's son, was the first rural mail carrier for the Rex community. He was a member of the Rock Baptist Church and a prominent and public spirited citizen of Clayton County. Many members of the Adamson family still live in Clayton County and the surrounding counties.

Adamson Junior High School became Adamson Middle School in 1989. The school mission statement, "To prepare our students for high school, college, and the jobs of the future through a challenging and rigorous academic program that provides students with multiple opportunities to be successful in their character development and intellectual growth" is exemplified in the cooperative team spirit of the faculty and support staff. The staff strives to set the academic and behavioral goals that will enable students to be their best in all aspects of their lives.

Kenneth R. Blake -  1977-  1998
Ann Keech Martin -  1998 - 2002
Stanley R. Sherman -  2002 - 2004
Dr. Douglas Hendrix - 2004 - 2008
Lonnie J. White, III - 2008 - 2010
Tim Guiney - 2010 - 2014
Charles Wilkerson - 2014 to 2018
Adrian Courtland - 2018 - PRESENT

Russell Keldorph 1977-1989
John Schaf 1989-90
Grant Armstrong 1990-2001
Cathy White 1990-2002
Susan McCauley 2001-2002
Ella Darnell 2002-2007
Ava Davis 2002-2010
Timothy Guiney 2007-2010
Pamela Murphy 2010-2011
Duane Hale 2010-2013
LaPetria Lewis 2013-2015
Brandy Brown 2015-2016
Melody Powell 2016-PRESENT
Lakesha Roberts 2018-PRESENT

Linda Armstrong 1986-90
Lee Casey 1990-95
Kim Marshall 1995-98
Sandra Hansen 1998-1999
Susan McCauley 1999-2001
Charles Wilkerson 2001 – 2004
Bruce Simon 2004 - 2005
Joel Boyce 2006 - 2010
Cephia Blassingame 2006 - 2011
Regina Wallace 2012 - 2014
Sherry Nance 2014 - 2018
Vonetta Bowden 2018 - PRESENT